Graduate Fellowships & Awards

Recognizing Excellence

The Department of Computer Science recognizes the achievements, leadership, and potential of graduate students who have earned prestigious fellowships and awards. Fellowships offer students the opportunity to focus on their graduate studies and research, while awards recognize the progress or overall excellence toward outstanding research or leadership contributions to the field. Many of these fellowships and awards are made possible by generous donations from alumni, friends, and corporate partners, and make a significant difference in supporting students during their academic and career pursuits. 


Apply for Awards

College & Campus Fellowships

Corporate-Sponsored Fellowships, Awards, and Scholarships

As a top graduate institution pursuing cutting-edge research, our students are well-positioned to take advantage of fellowship opportunities offered by our partners in industry. Selected fellowships are listed below. In many cases, your application must be first submitted to the Department of Computer Science to review. In those cases, a deadline will be announced and posted at the top of the department's wiki.

National Fellowships & Awards

Another source of fellowship funding comes from charitable foundations and from the U.S. government. For many of these, college seniors and first year graduate students are both eligible, and U.S. citizenship is typically a requirement. Deadlines vary, but are typically set for late fall to early winter. Besides listing a few of the more prominent programs below, the Department of Computer Science maintains a list of deadlines.

Usually, students may apply directly to these institutions for funding. However, your college or university may provide assistance for these applications. At the University of Illinois, see the National and International Scholarship Program, the Graduate College's Proposal Writing Assistance aids, or the Department of Computer Science's wiki page on this topic.

Selected national fellowships and awards: