C.W. Gear Outstanding Graduate Student

In recognition of the longtime contributions and services of Charles W. Gear to the University of Illinois and to the Department of Computer Science, contributions from alumni, friends, and former students established an endowed fund to annually honor a graduate student who has demonstrated excellence in research and service, as well as two undergraduates who intend to pursue graduate studies.


2021 Unnat Jain
2020 Dimitrios Skarlatos
2019 Umang Mathur
2018 Jingbo Shang
2017 Motahareh Eslamimehdiabadi
2016 Xiang Ren
2015 Muhammad Naveed
2014 Milos Gligoric
2013 Kyle Fox
2012 Yuanhua Lv
2011 Ali Farhadi
2010 I-Hong Ho
2009 Eric Gilbert
2008 Deng Cai
2007 Wenbo He
2006 Luis Ceze
2005 Koushik Sen
2004 Anand Ranganathan
2003 Hari Govind V. Ramasamy
2002 Xue Liu
2001 V. Prasanna Krishnan
2000 Tanya Berger-Wolf
1999 Kang-Won Lee
1998 Thomas Kwan
1997 Christopher L. Elford
1995 David A. Koufaty
1994 John B. Plevyak
1993 Michael D. Frazier
1992 Tiow Seng Tan
1991 Ran Libeskind-Hadas