Staff Awards

Department of Computer Science

Outstanding Staff Award
Members of the Department of Computer Science staff are recognized for exemplary service to the faculty, students, and fellow staff of the department. This includes recent service that goes above and beyond, as well as sustained outstanding service. Collectively, these past recipients have demonstrated thoughtfulness, initiative, creativity, dependability, and positive attitudes. They have applied their knowledge and expertise to overcome challenges, meet deadlines, and contribute greatly to fostering a friendly and productive work environment.

  • Eric Huber (Fall 2022)
  • Amy Simons (Fall 2022)
  • Bethany Socie (Fall 2022)
  • Salome Liebenberg (Spring 2022)
  • Julie Owens (Spring 2022)
  • Candice Steidinger (Spring 2022)
  • Yvonne Shaw (Fall 2021)
  • Samantha Smith (Fall 2021)
  • Alayna Timbo (Fall 2021)
  • Madeleine Garvey (Spring 2021)
  • Adam Yau (Spring 2021)
  • Allison Mette (Fall 2020)
  • Aaron Cohen (2019)

Outstanding Academic Professional Staff Award (2002 - 2018)
One Academic Professional member of the Department of Computer Science staff was recognized for exemplary service to the faculty, students, and staff of the department.

  • Denise Corray (2018)
  • Julia Owens (2017)
  • Viveka Kudaligama (2016)
  • Kara MacGregor (2015)
  • Cynthia Coleman (2014)
  • Sue Rhodes (2013)
  • Nicole Elliott (2012)
  • Donna Coleman (2011)
  • Scott Cimarusti (2010)
  • Rhonda McElroy (2009)
  • Frank Penrose (2008)
  • Mary Beth Kelly and Colin Robertson (2007)
  • Steve Herzog and Andrea Whiteseell (2006)
  • Sheila Clark and Drew MacGregor (2005)
  • Vicky Gress and Deb Israel (2004)
  • Patrick M. Patterson (2003)
  • Chuck Thompson (2002)

Outstanding Civil Service Staff Award (2002 - 2018)
One Civil Service member of the Department of Computer Science staff was recognized for exemplary service to the faculty, students, and staff of the department.

  • Candy Foster (2018)
  • Janet Smith (2017)
  • Elaine Wilson (2016)
  • Kim Bogle (2015)
  • Holly Bagwell (2014)
  • Janet Smith (2013)
  • Sherry Unkraut (2012)
  • Eric Horn (2011)
  • Kathy Runck (2010)
  • Melinda Shafer (2009)
  • Molly Flesner (2008)
  • Holly Bagwell and Kay Tomlin (2007)
  • Shirley Finke and Karen Stahl (2006)
  • Erna Amerman and Lori Melchi (2005)
  • Rick Henderson and Rick Van Hook (2004)
  • Anda L. Ohlsson (2003)
  • Barbara Armstrong (2002)

The Grainger College of Engineering

Outstanding Advisor
The Grainger College of Engineering Advisors List represents the top 10 percent of engineering advisors selected by the students.

  • Elizabeth Gonzalez (2020, 2022)
  • Katrina Jones (2018, 2020)
  • Heather Zike (2018, 2020, 2022)
  • Steve Herzog (2005-2016, 2018)

Kay Kappes Golden Shamrock Award
Given to a staff member that supports the students of The Grainger College of Engineering, using the same criterion as used to define a Knight of St. Patrick.

  • Cynthia "CJ" Coleman (2018)

University of Illinois

Campus Award For Excellence in Undergraduate Advising
This award is designed to foster and to reward excellence in undergraduate academic advising. Up to two winners will be chosen (one for a faculty member or an individual with a non-primary advising role and one for a professional academic advisor).

  • Steve Herzog (2016)

Chancellor's Distinguished Staff Award
Designed to annually recognize Staff employees for their exceptional accomplishments and service to the University, the CDSA is intended to encourage outstanding performance in all Staff employees.

  • Darwin L. Miller (2006)
  • Barbara E. Cicone (2003)
  • Kay Tomlin (2001)
  • Sharon Collins (1995)
  • Anda Ohlsson (1989)

Graduate College Excellence Award for Graduate Contacts
The Graduate College seeks to recognize those staff members whose service has enhanced the experiences of graduate students and/or has had a positive impact on the operations of the graduate program or department.

  • Viveka Kudaligama (2018)
  • Rhonda McElroy (2013)

International Student and Scholar Services: Outstanding Staff Member Award
ISSS recognizes that our name may be ‘International Student and Scholar Services’ but we are far from the only place that provides services to international students and scholars. Awarded to an individual who serves as ISSS contact for their international faculty, staff, and scholars, and has done exceptional work in that role.

  • Viveka Kudaligama (2019)