Nahrstedt Among Three Illinois Faculty Members Elected to National Academy of Engineering

2/10/2022 Illinois News Bureau

Klara Nahrstedt joined the academy this year, as part of 111 new members and 22 international members elected. She was recognized for her contributions to managing quality of service in distributed multimedia systems and networks.

Written by Illinois News Bureau

Three University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering.

Klara Nahrstedt
Klara Nahrstedt

The new members are William Hammack, the William H. and Janet G. Lycan Professor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Youssef Hashash, the William J. and Elaine F. Hall Endowed Professor and John Burkitt Webb Endowed Faculty Scholar in Civil and Environmental Engineering; and Klara Nahrstedt, the Grainger Distinguished Chair of Engineering in Computer Science and the director of the Coordinated Science Laboratory at the U. of I.

They are among 111 new members and 22 international members elected to the academy this year. This brings the total U.S. membership to 2,388 and the number of international members to 310. According to the NAE, “Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering research, practice or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature and to the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Nahrstedt’s research focuses on trustworthy multimedia distributed systems and networking; quality of service and resource management in wired and wireless systems and networks; real-time security for trustworthy smart grid; cyber-physical system security for electric vehicles; 3D tele-immersive systems; and advanced IoT-edge-cloud-based cyberinfrastructures for scientific instruments. She is the recipient of many awards for her research achievements, including the 2012 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award and the 2014 ACM Special Interest Group on Multimedia Technical Achievement Award. According to the NAE, Nahrstedt was selected “for contributions to managing quality of service in distributed multimedia systems and networks.”

The new members will be formally inducted Oct. 2 during the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C.

See the original story from Illinois News Bureau.

See additional coverage from The Grainger College of Engineering.

Share this story

This story was published February 10, 2022.