Distinguished Lecture Series: Dr. Jeannette M. Wing

10/11/2016 4:22:58 PM Colin Robertson, CS @ ILLINOIS

As part of the CS @ ILLINOIS Distinguished Lecture Series, Jeannette M. Wing, Corporate Vice President of Microsoft Research, will discuss how Microsoft Research’s partnerships with academia touch science, technology, and society. The lecture will take place at 4 pm on October 24, in 2405 Siebel Center. 

Research at Microsoft: Beyond the Horizon

The field of computing continues to advance at an astounding pace thanks to rapid innovation and collaboration between academia and industrial research institutions such as Microsoft Research. Microsoft Research is a unique industrial research lab supporting open, basic research with a mission to advance state of the art while doing rapid technology transfer to industry.  Through illustrative examples, I will talk about how Microsoft Research’s partnerships with academia impact science, technology, and society.

Bio: Dr. Jeannette M. Wing is Corporate Vice President, Microsoft Research. She is Consulting Professor of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon where she twice served as Head of the Computer Science Department.  She is also Affiliate Faculty in Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Washington.  From 2007-2010 she was the Assistant Director of the CISE Directorate at the NSF.  She received her S.B., S.M., and Ph.D. degrees in Computer Science, all from MIT.

Dr. Wing's general research interests are in the areas of trustworthy computing, specification and verification, concurrent and distributed systems, programming languages, and software engineering. Her current interests are in the foundations of security and privacy. She was or is on the editorial board of twelve journals, including the Journal of the ACM and Communications of the ACM.

She is currently Chair of the AAAS Section on Information, Computing, and Communications and is on the Board of Trustees for the Institute of Pure and Applied Mathematics.  She has been a member of many other advisory boards, including: Networking and Information Technology (NITRD) Technical Advisory Group to the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST), National Academies of Sciences' Computer Science and Telecommunications Board (former chair), ACM Council, Computing Research Association Board, and DARPA ISAT (former chair).  She served as co-chair of NITRD from 2007-2010. She was on the faculty at USC, and has worked at Bell Laboratories, USC/Information Sciences Institute, and Xerox Palo Alto Research Laboratories.  She received the CRA Distinguished Service Award in 2011 and the ACM Distinguished Service Award in 2014.  She is a member of Sigma Xi, Phi Beta Kappa, Tau Beta Pi, and Eta Kappa Nu.  She is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, American Association for the Advancement of Science, the ACM, and the IEEE.