Gropp, Amato assume roles on CRA Board of Directors

9/26/2023 Caitlin Renwald

Professor William Gropp and Professor Nancy Amato have assumed positions on the Board of Directors the Computing Research Association (CRA).

Written by Caitlin Renwald

William Gropp (left) and Nancy Amato
William Gropp (left) and Nancy Amato

Two CS professors have assumed positions on the Board of Directors for the Computing Research Association (CRA).


CRA members include more than 250 organizations active in computing research in North America including academic departments, industry and government research labs, and affiliated professional societies (AAAI, ACM, CS-CAN, IEEE-CS, SIAM, and USENIX). CRA aims to advance computing research by representing, uniting, and catalyzing academic, industry, and government research organizations, informing policymakers and the public, and championing a diverse, welcoming, equitable, and socially responsible computing research community.


Professor William Gropp was appointed as one of two IEEE-CS Representatives effective July 1, 2023.


Department Head and Abel Bliss Professor of Engineering Nancy Amato, an elected member of the CRA Board since 2014, has been elected to serve a second consecutive term as CRA Board Chair from July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2025. 


Share this story

This story was published September 26, 2023.