C.W. Gear Outstanding Undergraduate Student

In recognition of the longtime contributions and services of Charles W. Gear to the University of Illinois and to the Department of Computer Science, contributions from alumni, friends, and former students established an endowed fund to annually honor an undergraduate student who has demonstrated excellence in research and service, as well as two undergraduates who intend to pursue graduate studies.



Ethan Huang
Yutong Zhang


Nishant Balepur
Zhuofan Jia


Jiaying Li
Jiaming Zhang

2020 Yuxin Xiao
Haonan (Charles) Wang
2019 Yingying (Samara) Ren
Harshay Shah
2018 Daniel Johnson
Shivam Gupta
2017 Robert Andrews
Zifeng Huang
2016 Xun Lao
Mark Miller
2015 Urvashi Khandelwal
Robert Weber
2014 Tej Chajed
V.S.P. Vijay Bhattiprolu
2013 Aadhar Jain
Mateusz Wala
2012 Justin Kopinsky
Sukolsak Sakshuwong
2011 Rick Barber
Dai Liu
2010 Matthew Michelotti
Charles Mooney
2009 Ryo Kawaguchi
Zhiyuan Teo