CS Alumnus Shannon Chen

CS alumnus Shannon Chen receives SIGMM Outstanding PhD Thesis Award

August 1, 2017   Chen will be recognized at ACM Multimedia 2017 for his research advancing 3D tele-immersive technology.
Professor Sheldon H. Jacobson

Baker Award recognizes breadth and impact of Jacobson’s research

August 1, 2017   Professor Sheldon H. Jacobson has been honored with the David F. Baker Distinguished Research Award, recognizing his lifetime achievements in industrial engineering.
Marcin Kleczynski, CEO of Malwarebytes

Malwarebytes CEO Marcin Kleczynski pays it forward, impact doubled by Grainger Match

July 20, 2017   Marcin Kleczynski (BS CS ’12) has given a major donation to establish a named endowment supporting the Computer Science Visionary Scholarship Fund.
CS Assistant Professor Edgar Solomonik

Solomonik wins Householder Prize

July 19, 2017   Assistant Professor Edgar Solomonik was one of two winners of the Householder Prize XX, which recognizes the best dissertation in numerical linear algebra.
CS Ph.D. student Shadi Noghabi.

Noghabi wins Microsoft grant for underrepresented students

July 13, 2017   CS @ ILLINOIS doctoral student Shadi Noghabi is one of the 12 winners chosen from U.S. and Canadian universities for the new Microsoft Research Dissertation Grant program.
Professor Bill Gropp

Bill Gropp named NCSA Director

June 26, 2017   Professor Bill Gropp, the Thomas M. Siebel Chair in Computer Science, has been named Director of the National Center for Supercomputing Applications.
CS Professor & CSL Director Klara Nahrstedt

Illinois researchers build Dropbox-like storage, analytical system for scientific data

June 22, 2017   Illinois researchers are looking to speed up the materials-to-device process through a novel framework called 4CeeD.

The Female Perspective: The Challenges and Triumphs of Being a CS Undergraduate

June 17, 2017   In the fall of 2016, CS @ ILLINOIS welcomed the most gender-diverse class of freshman in its history. What is the CS @ ILLINOIS undergraduate experience like?
The week-long Gems Computer Science Camp for Girls is designed to dazzle and delight middle and high school students by exposing them to the broad field of computing and its applications.

CS @ ILLINOIS Honored for Increasing Women’s Participation in Computing

May 22, 2017   CS @ ILLINOIS has received the $100,000 Grand Prize for the NCWIT Extension Services Transformation (NEXT) Award.
CS Affiliate Professor Haitham Al-Hassanieh

Professor Hassanieh honored with ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award

May 18, 2017   The ACM has awarded CS Affiliate Professor Haitham Al-Hassanieh the 2016 Doctoral Dissertation Award.
Interim CS Department Head Vikram Adve

Vikram Adve named Interim Head of CS @ ILLINOIS

May 16, 2017   CS Professor Vikram Adve will serve as the interim head of the Department of Computer Science until a permanent replacement can be chosen for departing Department Head Rob A. Rutenbar.
CS Professor Sheldon Jacobson

Study: Higher mass transit use associated with lower obesity rates

May 16, 2017   Using public health and transportation data, CS Professor Sheldon H. Jacobson and colleagues found that higher mass transit use is correlated with lower obesity rates.
Doctoral students Motahhare Eslami and Jingbo Shang have each won a Google PhD Fellowship.

Eslami, Shang win Google Fellowships

May 15, 2017   Doctoral students Motahhare Eslami and Jingbo Shang have each won a Google PhD Fellowship.
CS Professor Luke Olson

Luke Olson named CSE Director

May 15, 2017   Luke Olson, Professor of Computer Science and Willet Faculty Scholar, has been named Director of the Computational Science and Engineering program.
Professors Aditya Parameswaran and Jian Peng have each received a prestigious CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation.

Parameswaran, Peng win NSF CAREER Awards

May 11, 2017   Assistant Professors Aditya Parameswaran and Jian Peng have each received a prestigious CAREER Award from the National Science Foundation to support their research.
Founder Professor Dan Roth

Roth honored with the IJCAI John McCarthy Award

May 11, 2017   Professor Dan Roth has been named the winner of the 2017 John McCarthy Award, the highest award the Artificial Intelligence community gives to mid-career AI researchers.
CS PhD student Robert Deloatch

A little support from their online friends calms test-anxious students

May 8, 2017   Reading supportive comments, “likes” and private messages from social media friends prior to taking a test may help college students who have high levels of test-anxiety.
Aditya Parameswaran is the recipient of this year's IEEE TCDE Early Career Award.

Parameswaran recognized with the IEEE TCDE Early Career Award

April 21, 2017   Professor Aditya Parameswaran was honored “for developing new interactive tools and techniques that expand the reach of data analytics.”
The dedication will take place on the east side of MNTL at 2:15 pm.

Statue honoring Women in Engineering to be dedicated on April 28

April 19, 2017   “The Quintessential Engineer,” a new, life-sized statue honoring women in engineering, will be officially unveiled and dedicated on Friday, April 28.
Professor Sibin Mohan and PhD student Monowar Hasan won a Best Paper Award at the 2016 Real-Time Systems Symposium.

Newly developed security mechanism aims to guard existing real-time systems against cyberattacks

April 15, 2017   The work, led by PhD student Monowar Hasan and Research Assistant Professor Sibin Mohan, won Best Paper Award at the 2016 Real-Time Systems Symposium.