Department News

Computer science PhD student Ahmed Khurshid.

CS PhD Student Runner-Up for Illinois Innovation Prize

May 6, 2015   Computer science PhD student Ahmed Khurshid has been recognized as the runner-up for the $20,000 Illinois Innovation Prize.
Thomas Reese

Translating Code into Language Learning—and Cozad Victory

May 4, 2015   Thomas Reese won the 2015 Cozad New Venture Competition with his project FlipWord.
josep torrellas

Torrellas to Receive the IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award

April 30, 2015   Josep Torrellas will receive the 2015 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award in June.
David Padua

Padua Named Recipient of 2015 IEEE Computer Society Harry H. Goode Award

April 22, 2015   CS Professor David Padua has been named the recipient of the 2015 IEEE Computer Society Harry H. Goode Memorial Award.
Saurabh Sinha

Sinha Receives $1 Million NIH Grant to Model Gene Regulation

April 20, 2015   Saurabh Sinha received a $1 million grant from NIH to begin a four-year project on modeling gene regulation.

High School Students Plunge into CS

April 19, 2015   250 high school students took part in CS @ ILLINOIS Splash, a one-day computer science showcase sponsored by WCS and ACM.
MOOC story illustration

CS @ ILLINOIS MOOC Enrollment Continues to Soar as New Specializations Launch

April 9, 2015   Nearly 600,000 people have enrolled in MOOCs from CS @ ILLINOIS since 2012.

Grad Student’s Research Aims to Enhance VR Gaming Experience

March 29, 2015   Pulkit Budhiraja designed mixed reality renderings that incorporate the physical world into the virtual world.
Sheldon H. Jacobson

A Method to March Madness: A Minute with Illinois Statistics Expert Sheldon H. Jacobson

March 10, 2015   CS Professor Sheldon H. Jacobson describes how how seeds advance through the NCAA tournament.
News story image

Illinois Team to Compete for Title of World’s Best Collegiate Programmers

March 8, 2015   A team of CS @ ILLINOIS students will be competing in the ACM ICPC world finals in Morocco.
engineering hall

Sinha and Xie Chosen as Willett Scholars

March 4, 2015   Saurabh Sinha an Tao Xie were selected as College of Engineering Donald Biggar Willett Scholars for 2015.
tandy Warnow

Warnow Invested as a Founder Professor

March 3, 2015   CS Professor Tandy Warnow was recently invested as a Founder Professor of Engineering.

Computational Science and Engineering Announces CSE Minor

March 1, 2015   The Computational Science and Engineering program is introducing a new 18-credit hour multidisciplinary minor.
HackIllinois logo

HackIllinois 2015 Hits the Ground Running

February 26, 2015   HackIllinois 2015 will run February 27 to March 1, and will bring in nearly 900 participants.
Matthew Dierker and Marrissa Hellesen

Two Exceptional CS Seniors among 2015 Knights of St. Patrick

February 23, 2015   CS students Marrissa Hellesen and Matthew Dierker were named 2015 Knights of St. Patrick.
Muhammad Naveed

Naveed Receives Google PhD Fellowship in Security

February 23, 2015   CS grad student Muhammad Naveed was one of just 15 recipients of a 2015 North American Google PhD Fellowship.
Klara Nahrstedt

Nahrstedt Named Director of the Coordinated Science Laboratory

February 15, 2015   CS Professor Klara Nahrstedt is the new Director of the Coordinated Science Laboratory.
4-H logo

Feeding the Pipeline: New CS Education Initiative to Reach Middle School Students Statewide

February 15, 2015   CS @ ILLINOIS is partnering with 4-H in an initiative to attract more youth to computing programming and related fields.
Sheldon H. Jacobson

Jacobson Brings Analytics Expertise to Ebola Screening

February 11, 2015   Professor Sheldon H. Jacobson has been providing hisexpertise on the topic of controlling the spread of Ebola.
Urvashi Khandelwal

Khandelwal Receives CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award

January 22, 2015   Urvashi Khandelwal was one of four recipients of the 2015 CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Researchers Award.