14 Illinois faculty members elected AAAS Fellows, including Padua and Warnow from CS

1/26/2022 8:17:45 AM Illinois News Bureau

Fourteen University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign faculty members have been elected 2021 fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Illinois CS professors David Padua, left in blue striped shirt, and Tandy Warnow, right in green sweater.
David Padua, left, and Tandy Warnow were elected AAAS Fellows for the class of 2021, a tradition that dates back to 1874. 

The new fellows are chemistry professor Martin Burke; crop sciences professor Brian Diers; physics professor Aida El-Khadra; physics professor Eduardo Fradkin; cell and developmental biology professor Brian Freeman; evolution, ecology, and behavior professor Mark Hauber; plant biology professor Katy Heath; bioengineering professor Joseph Irudayaraj; anthropology professor Lyle Konigsberg; anthropology professor Ripan Malhi; computer science professor David Padua; civil and environmental engineering and geography and geographic information science professor Murugesu Sivapalan; geography and geographic information science professor Shaowen Wang; and computer science professor Tandy Warnow.

Padua, a Donald Biggar Willett Professor Emeritus in Engineering, has devoted much of his career to the study of languages, tools and compilers for parallel computing. This includes work on autotuning, high-level notations for parallel programming, compiler evaluation and the efficient implementation of scripting languages.

Warnow is the Grainger Distinguished Chair in Engineering and Associate Head for Research and Faculty Development with Illinois CS. Her main research focus is on the development of algorithms for statistical estimation problems in computational biology and historical linguistics. She is a fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery and of the International Society for Computational Biology. She was awarded a John S. Guggenheim Fellowship, Radcliffe Institute Fellowship and a David & Lucile Packard Fellowship.

See the original story from the Illinois News Bureau.