Department News

News story image
Lumenous, a startup founded by three CS alumni, has received a Small Business Innovation Research grant from the NSF.
Schatz motion sensor app
A new app developed at Illinois enables patients' oxygen levels to be monitored with a cellphone.
Saurabh Sinha and Gene Robinson
DNA sequencing data will require computational storage capabilities well beyond previous estimates.
John Criswell
John Criswell received a 2014 Doctoral Dissertation Honorable Mention Award presented by ACM in June.
VR course teaches latest technology
Professor Steven LaValle's new virtual reality course brings the latest technology to CS @ ILLINOIS students.
robotic copter
Derek Hoiem is part of a research team developing a robotic system to monitor construction projects.
Steven LaValle MSI exhibit
Steven LaValle is one of the robotics scientists featured in a new robot exhibit at the Museum of Science and Industry.
Mylene Haus
CS sophomore Mylene Haus participated in a university production of Legally Blonde the Musical.
JPL Space Design Competition
Three CS graduate students were part of a team that won a JPL-NASA-sponsored Space Design competition.
Saurabh Sinha and Gene Robinson
A new genomic study of bees offers insights into genetic changes that accompany the evolution of bee societies.
Roger Dickey
Roger Dickey (BS CS ’05) served an Engineer in Residence and took part in a question and answer session for students.
Romit Roy Choudhury
Romit Roy Choudhury was recently awarded the 2015 ACM SIGMOBILE RockStar Award.
Major League Hacking
Major League Hacking presented Illini Hackers with a first-place award for the fall 2014 North American season.
Marrissa Hellesen
CS senior Marrissa Hellesen went from high school dropout to award winning CS @ ILLINOIS student.
Computer science PhD student Ahmed Khurshid.
Computer science PhD student Ahmed Khurshid has been recognized as the runner-up for the $20,000 Illinois Innovation Prize.
Thomas Reese
Thomas Reese won the 2015 Cozad New Venture Competition with his project FlipWord.
josep torrellas
Josep Torrellas will receive the 2015 IEEE Computer Society Technical Achievement Award in June.
David Padua
CS Professor David Padua has been named the recipient of the 2015 IEEE Computer Society Harry H. Goode Memorial Award.
Saurabh Sinha
Saurabh Sinha received a $1 million grant from NIH to begin a four-year project on modeling gene regulation.
250 high school students took part in CS @ ILLINOIS Splash, a one-day computer science showcase sponsored by WCS and ACM.